What Does a Butterfly Know About Death?

I walked past a dead orange sulfur butterfly along the road.  It is not such an unusual sight, and who knows what kills them.  I would guess it was a victim of traffic. But as I traveled on, I saw a live orange sulfur butterfly land on the exact spot of the dead butterfly, as if it were attracted to it.  I took a picture, but as I went back to get closer it flew off. 8-10-140067 So I looked a little closer. 8-10-140069 The petals are from the hoary vervain that grows alongside the road. There may be a deeper meaning, but I don’t know what it is.  Who understands the brain (or heart) of a butterfly?

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in butterflies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Does a Butterfly Know About Death?

  1. Finn Holding says:

    Who understands the heart or mind of any creature? There’s a lot more going on there than we will ever understand I reckon. We don’t even understand ourselves!

Leave a Reply

