Dad’s Photo Album

In 1995 my Dad and I would frequently visit a prairie remnant in Lake Hawthorne State Park near Barnes City, Iowa.  I had previously spent a lot of effort trying to be as unlike my Dad as possible. 

We found something we could share.  We both loved the prairie.  We both took pictures.  I had a big expensive camera.  He purchased the disposable panoramic cameras that were sold for a short time.

Dad took a number of photos about a week apart for the summer.  I suppose there were around a hundred photos all together.  They show the way a prairie changes through the seasons.

I have the album and I plan on scanning all the photos and doing something with them.

I visited Dad yesterday in the nursing home.  He has been physically failing for some time but has mostly been mentally alright.  He did mention that he had talked to Mom recently and that she is in another room in the home (she has been dead for a little over a year). 

I think I will lose him soon.  I am glad we had something that we shared and felt passionate about.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dad’s Photo Album

  1. zahara says:

    Oh, dear, I am touched by this post. The photos are beautiful. Now we know where you got your talent.
    My mom is visiting, living with me for a few weeks, maybe more. My father died a year ago this month.
    Yesterday at a thrift store I bought a camera for five dollars that is exactly like the one my mom used to use back in the 60’s and or 70’s. She doesn’t remember it but I do, a little black boxy thing, a Kodak Instamatic 104. I’ll post a pic of it on my blog. I wonder if they still make film for it? It came with extra flashcubes!

Leave a Reply

