Compelled to Comment

I feel compelled to comment on recent events. 

After the military operation that killed Osama Bin Laden, former Vice President Cheney commented that the operation was successful in part because of information received from “enhanced interrogation techniques.”

Shame on you, Dick Cheney!  Your use of torture had nothing to do with it.  And if it did, the use of torture would still be wrong.

I used to think that the greatest sorrow I would feel for future generations was the damage we had done to our environment.  My children or their children might not even know what the environment should look like.

During the Bush administration, and especially because of actions by Dick Cheney, I began to wonder if my children and their children would know what a democracy looks and feels like.  That shameful administration damaged democracy with its suspension of Habeas Corpus, its routine use of torture, its reckless push to war, and its cynical and deliberate manipulation of information given to the American public during the push to war. 

The current administration has taken some steps to correct the damage of the Bush administration.  They have not been big enough steps, and in some cases the damage is too great. 

I fear that in my lifetime I may see the demise of American democracy.  I have already seen some of it crumble away.

Will our grandchildren know democracy?

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in politics and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Compelled to Comment

  1. I couldn’t agree more!

Leave a Reply

