Yesterday’s Trip

Yesterday I spent about an hour at Hoffman Prairie, which is near Clear Lake, Iowa.   I was looking for the Poweshiek skipper, which was seen at the site in very small numbers a few years ago.  I didn’t see any.

I did get a photograph that I liked of these viceroys.

Here is another photo of a Baltimore checkerspot, taken at a fen near the Minnesota/Iowa border on the same trip.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in butterflies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yesterday’s Trip

  1. I remember Clear Lake from our visit there in late April of 2008. Gradually leaving behind warmth and verdure as we traveled north from Texas, we found ourselves in a 45° world with the wind blowing and not a leaf on any tree.

    By coincidence, I posted a butterfly picture today too.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

