Dragonflies and Sky

This weekend I participated in the Bugguide Gathering event at Ames, Iowa.  I loved every minute of it. 

We had a number of field trips to different areas.  The only issue I had was that I was not able to go on all of them.

I stuck with some of the prairie field trips, and found myself admiring the many large dragonflies and the blue sky with bright clouds.  At the Liska-Stanek prairie in Webster County I noticed the large common green darner, Anax junius.

 I tried to get photos of the dragonfly against the beautiful blue sky.  I tried some with prairie plants–mainly gray headed cone flower, in the foreground.  I kind of like this picture–I had a lot that were worse.  Unfortunately, I never quite got what I liked.

Moving on to the Brushy Creek Recreation area, I found a Halloween Pennant, Celithemis eponina, perched on a weed.  I tried to get the best part of the sky in the background.

The insect allowed me to get closer, and I could get more of it in the picture.

I liked the results.  

So many bugs, so little time.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in dragonflies, insects and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

