The Same, or Different?

In July I posted an image with some flies doing a mating dance.  This was one of those photos.

I did not know what it was at the time, but I posted a photo to bugguide and it was identified as Euaresta bella.

Sunday I found this fly, in about the same location of the prairie.  It seemed a little more yellow but looks pretty similar.

So are they the same, or are they different?

There is actually a key that I will go through at some time in the future.  The problem is there are a lot of words that I will have to look up the definitions for, and I am not sure I have a photograph with a good enough angle to get a good ID.  One characteristic, the color of the thorax, leads me to think this is Eurasta festiva.

But I will save the full key for some time when I am a little less busy.

Sometimes differences between species are quite subtle.  Both species are thought to live on the seeds of ragweed.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in diptera, insects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

