The Beetle that Plays Possum

I was cutting firewood yesterday and ran across a weevil on that was resting in a cut in the wood.  Since it had some interesting colors I collected it in a jar to photograph later.   When I captured the creature I wondered if  I had killed it.

It just seemed to lie there motionless.   After half a minute or so it came back to life and started to move around again.  When I touched it the beetle would go motionless again, then when it was not bothered for a while it would move around.

I have seen this before in another weevil.  I have heard that mourning cloak butterflies do this as well.

Here it is crawling on my arm.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in insects, invertebrates, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

