Sometimes You Get Lucky

We had some thunderstorms today–warm, summer-like rains.  I went outside shortly after one of the showers and looked for insects on the side of a locust tree trunk.  This tree has some great lichens which I knew would look spectular after the rain.

I really didn’t see any cool-looking insects, so I tried to take photographs of drops of water falling from a piece of bark that jutted out from the trunk.

If you time it just right, you can get a shot of the drop just before it falls.  The next shot was pure luck, though.

I saw the spider after I took the shot, and got a couple of out-of-focus shots before it disappeared. 

I love this shot.  I have never taken a photo quite like this before, and probably never will again.

Sometimes you just get lucky.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in Biological diversity, invertebrates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sometimes You Get Lucky

  1. Finn Holding says:

    That’s the kind of luck I get out of bed in the morning for! Great photograph.

  2. Jaimee D says:

    Gorgeous shot Harlan! We still have a bunch of snow up here, I’m dreaming of spring!

    • Great to hear from you. We are having an early spring and almost summer. I expect to get some freezing weather soon (we still can in April and May) but I will be fine if we don’t.

Leave a Reply

