Did I Miss Something?

Sometimes when I photograph small things I don’t really see what is going on until I look at the photograph later.

The other day I saw this spider in a red cedar tree.  Honestly, I was looking for other things–hoping to get a glimpse of a juniper hairstreak.  I have seen them in the same tree before, a few years back.  Since then I have visited the tree unsuccessfully many times.

I took a few photographs of this spider then grew bored with it and went on to other things.  When I viewed the picture later I got the feeling that I should have continued.  I think that this spider is in the process of shedding its exoskeleton.  At least it looks like it–the skeleton around the legs seems to have separated from the rest of the body.

I probably won’t know for sure because I didn’t stick around long enough.  I should have waited until he pulled his pants the rest of the way off.

So if ours are called a pair of pants, would his be called an octet of pants?

I know–really bad humor….

 

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in invertebrates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did I Miss Something?

  1. Finn Holding says:

    Fascinating image. If only you’d stuck around, it would have made a very interesting series of pictures if it was in the process of shedding.

    An octet? Sounds as though they’d be alot easier to pull off than to put on!

  2. theresagreen says:

    Even more of a feat when you consider he/she has no arms to assist with the process either!

Leave a Reply

