Another Butterfly

Monday I saw this butterfly in the ditch by our road.  I am tempted to say it is one of my favorites, but they all are.  I do especially like these, however.

The little wood satyr, Megisto cymela is a widespread butterfly that is often found in woodland edges.  It is not flashy, but it has a cool looking hopping flight.  Like a few others, it has a tendency to land down in the weeds, rather than on flowers.  That can make it frustratingly difficult to photograph.

I am sure it has more to do with the preferred habitat than the caterpillar food plants, but usually the places I find this butterfly in any numbers also have large amounts of poison ivy.

This is what poison ivy looks like.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in butterflies, insects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Butterfly

  1. Finn Holding says:

    It’s a handsome butterfly and a really good photograph, pin sharp and well lit (did you use a flash?). And doesn’t the poison ivy look innocuous – how poisonous is it?

    • I used a flash on some of the photos I took of that butterfly but I don’t think I did on that one. Poison ivy really affects some people and others not so much. I have never really been bothered by it. I have heard of some folks who develop a sudden sensitivity to it, however, so I don’t really take chances. Sensitivity is to oils that are on the leaves so if you wash off soon after being exposed you are usually ok.

  2. Pingback: Little Butterflies. « the unbearable lightness of being me.

Leave a Reply

