More From Texas

I haven’t had a chance to sort through all of my photos from the Texas Butterfly Festival yet, but I did get some good ones.  I am having fun, seeing lots of butterflies that are new to me and meeting some interesting people.  The weather has cooled off, so today might not be quite as good as the last two days.

The western pygmy blue, Brephidium exile, is very tiny, as the name suggests.  I was struck by its vivid colors and its gray eye–most blues I know have black eyes.

Cloudless sulfurs, Phoebis sennae, are huge yellow butterflies that are strong fliers.  We were treated to one of these butterflies nectaring in a nearby tree, after which it flew up, found its mate, then danced in the sky in a courtship flight.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in butterflies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

