Biodiversity Events

I haven’t posted as frequently to this blog recently as I had been earlier.  Part of the reason is the weather–when it turns cold there are not as many opportunities to take bug photos.  Part of the reason is the season–it is usually dark when I get home, so the same lack of opportunity for photography.

But I have also been putting some effort into revising my Poweshiek skipper website (www.poweshiekskipper.org)

You won’t be able to see the results until I am done with the major revisions–hopefully before the first of the year.  However, I thought I would share some thoughts on something I noticed while working on it.

I have a section on Iowa’s biological diversity.  I included some different sections based in information I know is available–lists of Iowa’s butterflies and a wonderful website on Iowa’s dragonflies, for example.  But I thought I would emphasize with this revision how people are involved with biological diversity.  I was surprised at the number of groups and events I came up with.  We have the Iowa Prairie Network, the Iowa Native Plant Society, the Iowa Ornithological Union, and the Prairie State Mushroom Club, just to name a few.  There have been a number of great events, related to biological diversity in the past two years, some of which I have been lucky enough to attend.

For example, we have the annual Day of Insects at Rieman Gardens in Ames.

This was on March 24th of this year.  It is a day-long event with people sharing short talks about their involvement with insects.

I was fortunate enough to be involved with a couple of bioblitzes this year.  I know there were several held this summer.

This one was at White Rock Conservancy.  I was only able to attend part of one day of this two day event.

Then there was the Martha Skillman Prairie Walk and Pie Tasting.  I was not able to attend this year, but I was lucky enough to attend last year.

Wonderful events, all of them.

So it is not just about biological diversity.  It is about people and biological diversity.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in Biological diversity, insects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Biodiversity Events

  1. Finn Holding says:

    It’s great bto know that so many folk in so many countries are motivated to get out there and observe, study and record.

    In the UK we have ‘Citizen Science’ which is providing an increasingly important resource for professional scientists: ‘http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-20445296’. Is there a similar thing going in the US?

Leave a Reply

