Visiting Old Friends

I took the day off from work today, and spent the day crawling on the forest floor taking pictures.  It was like visiting old friends.

4-26-130006

This flower is called Dutchman’s breeches.

4-26-130032

I had hoped to see some butterflies, but it sprinkled a little and the sky was too cloudy.  I did see this wing from a red admiral.  Was it from this year or last?  I would think that the wing would decompose more than this if it sat on the wet ground over the winter, but I don’t know.  I saw no living butterflies.

4-26-130045

These are spring beauties, one of the most numerous flowers of this particular area of the forest floor.

4-26-130048

And, I saw a couple of different species of snail.  I think this is an immature Neohelix alleni.

My spirits are refreshed.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in Biological diversity, invertebrates, snails and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Visiting Old Friends

  1. juliecache says:

    I miss dutchman’s breeches. Can’t wait to find some this year.

Leave a Reply

