What I did on my Summer Vacation

We just got back from a short vacation.  We drove from our place, which is near Des Moines, Iowa to Saint Louis–somewhere around seven hours each way.  As always, I was easily distracted by the wildlife.

We drove through Eldon, Iowa.  The Grant Wood Gothic house and a small museum were there.  We had not planned to stop there, but we did, and we were pleasantly surprised.  There was a small flower garden in front of the house, which had mostly native prairie plants in it.

6-19-1304

No sign of the sour looking farmer with the pitchfork.  But I did see the American Lady, whose picture I posted the other day.

6-19-1311

 

Then we went to Cahokia Mounds State Park near Collinsville, Illinois, and climbed the largest mound.  There is a lot of history to learn at this site, and it is fascinating.  However, I found myself distracted by a saddlebags dragonfly which was cruising the area.

6-20-1307

Maybe I will post more later.  Or maybe I will be distracted by something else.

 

 

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in American Indians and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

