Elbow and Belly Photography

The presence of small aster plants on a mowed lawn created an opportunity for one of my favorite types of photography.  I use a set of extension tubes and a macro lens extended to the maximum extent.  If I was using film, the image on the film would be about twice as large as the insect.  Because of the loss of light, and in order to increase the depth of field, a flash is a must.

Then I crawl on my belly and elbows, steadying the camera as much as I can (absolutely critical at this magnification) and snap away.

9-22-20130022

The fly is Toxomerus geminatus.  It is small and very common.

9-22-20130031

I feel like a kid when I do this style of photography.  It is so much fun!

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in diptera, insects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

