What I Did on My (Involuntary, Unpaid) Vacation

As an employee of the State of Iowa in a federally supported position, the government shutdown has affected me.  As of now, I am laid off for fifteen work days.  That may change, but I expect to be out money and have time off as a result of this.  It could get better, and it could get worse.

Still, others have it a lot worse than I do.  And how can you complain about having a beautiful October day off?

So I drove down to the southern part of the state, to a county park called Slip Bluff Park.

10-8-130049

It’s a wooded area with some prairie plantings and an artificial lake.  As usual, I concentrated on the invertebrates.

10-8-130036

Look closely to the center left and you can see how well adapted the eastern comma is to live in the woodlands.  Especially when it closes its wings.

10-8-130044

A common buckeye basks in the sun.

10-8-130032

And this widow skimmer, though battered and old, shows vivid colors.

Overall, a pretty good day.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in butterflies, dragonflies, Junonia coenia, widow skimmer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Did on My (Involuntary, Unpaid) Vacation

  1. Beautiful photos, especially the close up of the buckeye. The skimmer is just like one who visited here a few weeks back. What clarity in your photo. Am glad you found a peaceful way to spend the day. I vote for better… and soon. Take good care of yourself, WG

  2. Hope says:

    Make lemonade out of the lemons… ENJOY your time off! 🙂 Beautiful photography!

Leave a Reply

