Mackey is Dying

7-27-11003

Here is a photo from a couple of years ago.  He was getting old then, but he was still in good health.

I won’t show a photo from now.  He has a large lump on his side—the result of a cancer of the liver, according to the vet.  He eats ravenously on some days but will go without eating much for several days in a row.  His ribs stick out through his skin.

He may die at home, or we may take him in to have him put down.  When do you do that?  He still has some good days.  He can still walk and even runs once in a while.

A man from Des Moines took their sick family dog in his car, told his wife he was taking him to the vet to have him put down, then left the dog in a ditch.  The dog was found but was later euthanized, the owner was located by the dog’s microchip.

I don’t know the man’s motives.  What he did was wrong.  But I think I understand how it could happen.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mackey is Dying

  1. Margaret Bailey says:

    I’m so sorry… We lost our big old golden retriever last summer. He headed to the river trail where we first found him as a puppy. I think that your dog will know when he needs help with leaving and will try to tell you. Or he may just go off like Amos did. It’s so hard to say goodbye.

  2. Mary says:

    It’s a tough call. My sympathies. When faced with a similar situation last year I came to realize that my pet’s needs trumped my own need to “keep him for just a few more days”. I think you’ll know when the time is right.

  3. Hike a Pup says:

    Dogs aging…it seems quickly all of a sudden. One of my retrievers is 12 years old and on our last hike she limped across a flat field. I had to leave her home today. It breaks my heart. but the vet said she will tell me when she can’t do it anymore. I have a ten year old Golden and a 5 month old Lab so I need to keep going out with or without her. So sad. I wish you the best.

Leave a Reply

