After the Frost

We had a frost last night–the first really hard frost of the season.  Some parts of Iowa got measurable snow, but we didn’t.  And I am fine with that.

We have had a misty, cool day today.  I noticed that the colors of the leaves were particularly bright in the fading light, so I wandered around with my camera.

10-23-130009

The battery in my camera was low, and I was afraid I might not be able to take many photos.  It would have been better to use a tripod, but the low battery sort of ruled that option out.  Digital cameras are more susceptible to battery problems than the old film cameras were, and I was not sure how many shots I had.

10-23-130013

Had I used the tripod, I might have tried to increase the depth-of-field with this photo.  I am pretty sure that would have been a mistake, in retrospect.

Maybe I got lucky.  Maybe I hit it at just the right time, and would have lost the light had I taken more time.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

