Noon Walk Butterflies

I take a walk over my lunch break, and I count butterflies as I am doing it.  Here are the results of this year’s surveys.  I saw 24 species, 943 total butterflies.  The species where I counted more than one butterfly are on the chart.

2013 butterflies

Much higher than usual eastern tailed-blue numbers this year.

This is a fairly restricted habitat–similar to the suburbs.  Short grass and trees, and not many good butterfly flowers.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in butterflies, eastern tailed-blue and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Noon Walk Butterflies

  1. juliecache says:

    I am really in awe that you keep track. good food for thought.

Leave a Reply

