Might be Mites

Back near the end of October I had the occasion to split some firewood, and ran across some ants within one of the logs I split.

10-26-140021

I am not an ant expert, but I think that the species is Camponotus pennsylvanicus, the eastern black carpenter ant.  The white things are larva being tended (on an emergency basis because I destroyed their home) by workers.

10-26-140018

There were a number of winged individuals.  I am not sure whether they were males or females, but I think they were males–females seem to have a wider head.

10-26-140017

Some individuals had some little red things on them.  They sort of look like mites, but I am not entirely sure that is what they are.  It is just that I can’t think of what else they could be.

I have seen mites on other insects, and they are not too uncommon, but I could not find anything on the internet about mites infesting carpenter ants.

10-26-140014

I had several photos, but I was not able to find any clear enough to see legs or any other features to prove what they are.

 

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in ants, insects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

