Death and Lichens

We found the remains of a deer a few years back.  We kept its skull and have it on a table outside.

4-6-150018

I noticed that there were lichens growing on it, and took this photo of some dried lichens in the eye socket.

4-4-150058

But it has rained for a few days, and the lichens have swelled up and gotten more colorful.

4-9-150001

 

Maybe when I die, instead of locking me in a box and burying it underground, or burning my body to ashes, someone will transport my skull to a wild place.  It will set there on the ground for a few years growing lichens.

4-9-150002

A few decades more and it will all be soil, nourishing the critters.

Dust to dust…

 

 

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in rural scenics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Death and Lichens

  1. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    Some days I feel like I have lichens growing in my eye sockets already…

    Love the macro shots!

Leave a Reply

