Snails

I wanted to be somewhere else today.  The Jackson County Conservation Commission is sponsoring a bioblitz today, and I had planned on attending.  However, I have an unresolved health issue (hopefully nothing major but it is kicking my butt right now) that prevented me from going.

I was going to look at terrestrial snails.  Being unable to go there I spent some time photographing snails from my back yard.

4-24-150042

This one seems to be Euchemotrema fraternum.  

4-24-150015

This is a view of the underside of the same species–maybe not the same individual, though.

4-25-150046

This is Zonitoides arboreus.

4-25-150028

This is a Gastrocopta species.  Positive identification requires closer identification of the shell opening than I was able to do with the live specimen.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in invertebrates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Snails

  1. theresagreen says:

    Sorry to hear you’re not 100% fit at present, hope it’s not disrupting the photography too much. Best wishes

Leave a Reply

