Six Species of Frogs (or maybe seven, or eight, or even nine)

Our little pond has attracted at least six species of frogs.  Pond might be a stretch–puddle is probably closer to the truth.  The pond is not very deep and dries out in more years than not.  But it is great for frogs, dragonflies, and a host of other types of wildlife.

I have recognized the calls of chorus frogs, cricket frogs, American toads, gray tree frogs (we could have only one of the two species or both–eastern gray tree frog and Cope’s gray tree frog), and the northern leopard frog.  I have photos of all of them except the chorus frog–somehow they always elude me.  The two gray tree frogs are not visually distinguishable–they can be identified by the calls, but I have not been able to distinguish the calls.  I think I may have heard spring peepers on a few occasions, but I am not sure of that, either.

The plains leopard frog might be found here, but I have not found one yet.

Just the other day I found a bullfrog, Lithobates catesbeianus, in the pond.   That makes six species for sure.

5-16-150015

Of course, bullfrogs have a tendency to eat the other species when they have the chance, so the numbers might go down.

Or up if I can identify other species.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in frogs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

