Rain and Butterflies

When it rains in the spring you will not see butterflies.  Not so with summer rains.  I did not get outside this morning, but went out with my camera shortly after noon.  I had to change my plans soon, though, because it started to rain.

And it rained some more.

Then it poured.  We got two inches of rain within a few hours.

But then the rain stopped and the sun came out.  Water was still dripping from the wet trees as I went out and looked for butterflies.

This least skipper was trying to get nectar from a red clover flower that had fallen over from the weight of the rain.  It was undeterred by the moisture.

6-14-150033

This red admiral was able to find an upright red clover for its meal.

6-14-150065

I have never been quite able to get the photo of a meadow fritillary that I want.  This was not what I was trying for, but I did like the result.

Butterflies were very busy right after this heavy summer rain.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in butterflies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rain and Butterflies

  1. theresagreen says:

    The fritillary looks as though it is sheltering from the rain.

Leave a Reply

