Butterflies from Unusual Perspectives

We have had some hot, humid and stormy weather lately–weather that is great for butterflies.  Tonight after work I chased the butterflies for a little bit and ended up with a couple of photos from unusual perspectives.

We had a couple of small trees toppled by the wind.  I found this red admiral resting horizontally on the trunk–if the tree was upright, the butterfly would be facing down.

6-22-150014

This individual seemed to have an unusual curvature to the upper part of its wing surface.

I also saw a great spangled fritillary.  It flew down into the tall weeds in the prairie.   I slowly tried to sneak up on where it was.  Then I saw a monarch butterfly on a common milkweed.  I wondered if my eyes had deceived me.  But when it flew off I could see the original butterfly.

6-22-150019

It didn’t stick around long enough for me to get another picture.  This was not the photo I was trying to get.  Still, I kind of like the result.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in Biological diversity, butterflies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

