More Butterflies

Saturday I went to West Woods Park which is north of Glenwood Iowa.  This small county park is a wooded loess hill area, with a prairie on the top of the hill.  The butterflies were spectacular.

There were several giant swallowtails.  I did not get any photos of them sitting still, but I got a lot of them flying by.

8-15-150074

This little glassy wing was a first of the year butterfly for me.  It is one I have not seen very often.

8-15-150172

This Hayhurst’s scallopwing was a first ever for me–a lifer.

More later…

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in butterflies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

