Skipper IDs Can Be Tricky

Yesterday I posted a photo that I identified as a “little glassywing.”  I think I was wrong, though.

8-15-150074

The shot is far from perfect.  It could be that, but I think that it is more likely that it was a female sachem.  That is based on the flight times of both butterflies, and the fact that I saw a number of sachems the same day.  The white spots are about the same on both.  Sachem had not even entered my mind when I was trying to figure out what it was.

8-15-150188

This is another view of a sachem.  It becomes a very common butterfly in the late summer.

Here is another skipper that I have tried to identify.

8-15-150136

Unfortunately I was not able to get as good of a photo as I wanted.  Here is another shot of the same butterfly.

8-15-150135

I am thinking wild indigo duskywing, based on eliminating the other possibilities.  The next closest would be Horace’s duskywing.  Both would be possible at this site, but I am leaning heavily towards wild indigo.

This is a tawny-edge skipper.

 

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in Biological diversity, butterflies, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

