And Nothing Much Happened

Today’s post is my one thousandth blog entry.  I suppose this represents a milestone of sorts.

onethousand

I started doing this a little over five years ago.  Mostly I have posted photographs–more bugs than anything else.  I did some posts that I am particularly  proud of about the history of the butterfly:  History of the people related to the discovery of Oarisma poweshiek, and early Iowa history.  I went on a few political rants, but mostly have resisted the urge to do so.

Lately I have posted about possible kinetitrophic organisms, and will continue to do so for a little while.  When spring shows up I will start over with the insect photos I imagine.

Nothing I have posted went viral.  I have a few steady readers, but probably fewer than most blogs of similar duration.  I hope you find this interesting, but I do it mostly for my own amusement.  Often I don’t really know why I do it. I just do it.

Thanks for your attention, though.  I do appreciate feedback.

Harlan Ratcliff

 

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And Nothing Much Happened

  1. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    Congratulations! It’s not easy to keep posting for 5 years if you’re not a writer by trade. Keep the awesome butterfly (and other insect) photos coming!

  2. theresagreen says:

    Congratulations, 1,000 posts takes a lot of dedication and effort. Look forward to reading the next 1,000!

  3. Marlene Sullivan says:

    I enjoy your photographs. They are amazing. I wish you another 1000 posts.

  4. Brian Duster says:

    You need to choreograph and videotape an awkward slip into a creek will photographing butterflies or better yet a tripod to the groin…then you will go viral.

Leave a Reply

