I’m Sorta Back

I lost my camera–in fact, several cameras and lenses to a break-in a couple of weeks ago.   But I find that I need to take pictures.  Call it an investment in my mental health.  So I traded in an old camera that had not been stolen and bought a new camera and a used macro lens.

7-33-160010

This eastern cicada killer, Sphecius speciosus, has been hanging out on our front door steps for several days.  It is big and scary-looking, and can sting but probably won’t.  It is reported to have only a mild sting.

7-33-160052

This dragonfly is probably one of the meadowhawk species.

7-33-160033

These are silver-spotted skippers.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in Biological diversity, dragonflies, insects, Silver-spotted skipper and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Sorta Back

  1. Charles Hall says:

    Glad to see you’re back at it. I have enjoyed your work. There are still some good photo ops out there!☺

  2. Very sorry to hear about your break in, and the loss of your camera equipment and whatever else those miscreants stole from you . I trust you were away and unharmed . Glad you were able to pull some new equipment together and continue your beautiful work . Yes , mental health ! My own camera is a simple palm sized Nikkon, and generally goes wherever I go 😊 Macro -photography opens a window on a new way of experiencing the world .

Leave a Reply

