Sunday’s Butterflies

Sunday was a great day for butterflies.

8-28-160046Giant swallowtails are not common here, but they are large so I see them often enough.  I have tried to get a good photo of one around our house for years, and I finally got a couple that I like.  Giant swallowtails keep their wings in constant motion while they are getting nectar from thistles.

8-28-160052

Black swallowtails are a little more common, but they also keep their wings in constant motion.

8-28-160063

Most years silver spotted skippers are not too common, but there have been plenty of them this year.  I love the way they get nectar by landing on the side of the flower, then sticking their long proboscis over the top.

8-28-160087

Gray hairstreaks generally show up here late in the year.  I was getting a little frustrated because I had seen several earlier but until yesterday I had not gotten any photos.

This butterfly was along the side of the gravel road, and I had to lie down along the road to get the picture.  Fortunately, there was no traffic while I was out with my camera.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in butterflies, gray hairstreak, Silver-spotted skipper, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday’s Butterflies

  1. Jeff Zablow says:

    So much fun, excitement and beautiful images. I too once sought a good shot at the edge of a very little traveled road, as I pushed the shutter button, I could not believe what I heard!! A vehicle was coming! I still have my 2 feet, and I will NeveR do that again. Please reconsider. We NeeD more of this calibre of images.

  2. Your beauties love the thistle ! Lovely shots ☺

Leave a Reply

