Attitude in a Small Package

I split some firewood yesterday.  The wood was still fairly wet, from a branch which fell in the summer of 2015.  It still had bark on it, but the bark was loose, allowing for lots of critters to live underneath.

I saw this pseudoscorpion once I had freed some bark from the wood.9-24-160032

Although I don’t see them often, I suspect that pseudoscorpions are not uncommon here.  They are small.  The average grain of sand is larger.  But pseudoscorpions have cool looking claws and seem to project an attitude that grains of sand do not have.

They have grain of sand bodies with pea gravel-sized attitude.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in Biological diversity, psuedoscorpions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Attitude in a Small Package

  1. Alan @ it's not work, it's gardening! says:

    I’ve never seen one of these, but then I didn’t realize they were so tiny! I’m going to keep my eyes open…

  2. theresagreen says:

    What a brilliant insect – lucky find!

Leave a Reply

