The Flower that Becomes a Puddle

I spent some time photographing insects on spiderwort today.  I found myself distracted a little by the flower itself.

Here is a photograph I took some time ago of spiderwort.

 

We have three species of spiderwort here in Iowa.  One is fairly weedy, and is often found along ditches.  It is Tradescantia ohiensis.  I think the one shown here is T.  virginiana.

I am not sure what we have in the garden–it is a somewhat domesticated variety.  I only know it is not T. ohiensis (which has smooth bracts).

All bloom only in the morning and close up by noon, except on cloudy or rainy days. 

Rather than wilt and fall off, as most flowers do, the petals on spiderwort dissolve.  The liquid that remains can sometimes drip off, as you can see in this little purple puddle that was on the leaf of one of the plants.

About the roused bear

Nature photographer from central Iowa.
This entry was posted in Biological diversity, plants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Flower that Becomes a Puddle

  1. Pingback: joyful rain | 20 LINES A DAY – an exercise in discipline

  2. Pingback: Puddles – July 5 « Le Art Studio

  3. Pingback: Bluejackets to Jello « Prairie Piece: living in harmony with nature

Leave a comment